Johnny’s Selected Seeds: A Catalog Review

A review of a catalog, is this really necessary?  Well if you have never seen Johnny’s it is.  Everyone has their favorite catalog so here’s mine.   I have mentioned these guys in my previous post and I thought I would expand a little on their wonderfulness.  The catalog is not just a catalog of seeds but a handbook of the best of the best.  In fact an organic CSA farmer we know only has one copy of this catalog, he has his name written on the cover and it is expected that if you borrowed it you will return it in a timely manner.

Here are some of the things I love about it:

  • They have description for each plant type that specifies tons of useful information. The pepper section for instance details millions of useful stats to help you achieve success.  Here’s the link to their virtual catalog so you can see for yourself.  I have considered tossing out all my other gardening books and just carrying around their catalog.
  • Detailed descriptions of each plant. Yes, this is pretty standard in all catalogs but still helpful.
  • The best of the best. They only include plants varieties that make their cut.  Unlike other catalogs that bombard you will choices, they decide for you.
  • They highlight “easy choice” plants. This is as if to say “Beginner: you can’t mess this plant up”
  • There is a germination guide with an optimal temperature chart. Handy, not that I temp the soil but you never know.
  • Large selection of organic. Now you can brag that your carrots are descended from a long line of organic carrots.
  • Lots of exciting tools. I’ve got my eye on a soil block making system for a mere $500.  I’ll never own it but it’s nice to know it’s there.
  • They call if they can’t fill an order. It’s the personal touch that made the soreness of not getting my sweet potato slips a little easier to handle.
  • Their website has a seed starting calculator. This isn’t technically in the catalog but oh boy does it look exciting, I can’t want to give it a try.

So go order your own catalog it will take a few weeks to get to you so hurry.

4 responses to “Johnny’s Selected Seeds: A Catalog Review

  1. Courtney — Thanks for the great information. I’ve ordered a catalog and am looking forward to pouring over it when it gets here. While our garden plans are really limited this year (especially with a very shady suburban backyard for 2011), it never hurts to dream a little and plan a lot. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you for the wonderful review of the Johnny’s catalog. I happen to know the person (my sister) that pulls all that information together to create this outstanding catalog. Her efforts are incredible while putting this together. I, too, love Johnny’s and their attention to the most needed information. It empowers you to become a good gardener. Thanks again for acknowledging its high standards and eye for detail. They are all great people there that truly care about the products they create and offer.

  3. Tom Saunders

    As an old time farmer, now gardner I find Johnnys to be more than just a catalog, it is a source of knowlledge,information and just a phone call away!!! The persons you talk to and provide you assistence and infr omation is beyond the catalog but is the catalog .. Thanks for the great effort and energy in producing suck a nice sourece for us.!!

Leave a comment