My Valentine’s Resolution

It’s not a New Year’s resolution but a Valentine’s resolution.  Let me back up a bit and explain.  Robert and I don’t do a lot for Valentine’s Day (I did ask him if he wanted to go see the King’s Speech and he looked at me all funny and said no.  He completely missed the point that I was requesting a movie date) but he always does get me a nice little something.  Usually chocolate or flowers.  This year it was a heart shaped box of See’s dark chocolates.  I told him that they were mine and he had to ask if he wanted any.  Which is my polite way of saying hands off, I’m not sharing, no ifs ands or butts.  I proceeded to open the box and deliberate over which one to eat first.  I know what some of the shapes are but I love the mystery of discovering the others.  I ate two immediately then felt sad that they would be gone soon if I wasn’t careful.  In comes my Valentine’s resolution, I will only eat 2 per day!  With 26 chocolates that means they they need to last 13 days – which is February 27th.  That’s my goal.  I am not sure I have enough self control though because I usually eat my quota by 10 am and then I sometimes cheat.  But if I post on the blog maybe that will hold me accountable.

This is not a new idea to me.  Every year I do this with Girl Scout cookies.  I write the date on the box when they need to last to, eating only 1 per day.  This was only successful at work though, at home I have no control over how many Thin Mints I can eat at one time.

Wish me luck.

Leave a comment