The Troybilt Pony Rototiller

I recently purchased a used Troybilt Pony Rototiller that I found on Craigslist.  We wanted a tiller because we’re currently planning a garden around 2500 square feet, as well as a greenhouse with earth beds and also a few separate and permanent beds for things like asparagus. The site where these beds will be located is currently a hard packed horse pasture.  I’ll need to incorporate as much manure, compost and other material as I can so the garden has a good start.

I’m following in my father’s footsteps again on this one.  When I was younger in the 1980s we had a Troybilt Pony.  The thing is absolutely unstoppable and is perfect for a garden of this scale.  The machine I found was in great condition and was a little older.  This is preferred because I’ve read that the newer models in more recent years leave much to be desired in terms of manufacturing quality.  Just as in about anything, they don’t make ’em like they used to.  That’s why I’m glad to have found an older model.

Eventually I’d like to build the soil up to the point where lots of tilling isn’t needed, but that’ll take several years.  I do have my eye on one of these babies, though, for some time in the future.

Thanks, Robert.

4 responses to “The Troybilt Pony Rototiller

  1. Love the troybuilt rototillers. It’s something I can handle nicely without fear of massive destruction like me driving a tractor would be. 🙂

    • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

      Thanks Creativityorcrazy,

      My mother has managed to do some damage with that tiller, so be careful! I know she would say the same about me too. She used to call me the “overzealous rototiller operator” because I would “accidentally” run over plants that I thought were weeds but were in actuality herbs that she was cultivating. She would make me come along to the greenhouse down the road and listen while she retold the story to the owners as they laughed.

      Thanks, Robert

  2. Hello, i have the exact same tiller, not as nice though. Im in need of some parts but all the labeling on mine is gone. Any chance you still have this and could get the model number for me please?

    • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

      Patrick,

      The model number of mine is 15008.

      Thanks,

      Robert

Leave a Reply

