Gardening tip: Make all beds the same size

It’s garden planning time around our house.  Just so you get a feel for what it’s like around our house right now, our coffee table is stacked high with gardening books, seed catalogs and graph paper.  Robert and I are both obsessed and our poor children have to either scream for our attention or physically remove the book from our hands.  I like to think that I am the master gardener in the house but he seems to think that he is.  This leads to many arguments over where to plant things and what to plant.  Our latest argument is about how much to plant.  I always want to plant less, he always wants to plant more.  Since he usually wins the how much to plant argument, we need to figure out where it all goes.

Since reading Four-Season Harvest by Eliot Coleman, which I highly recommend, Robert recommended that we use a technique talked about in the book and that is make all beds the same size and all the foot paths the same size.  Why didn’t I think of that?  As I sketch out the garden I am constantly consulting Johnny’s Selected Seed catalog to find out plant spacing and row width, etc.  I get a little carried away, as is my habit, and the plans end of being somewhat complicated.  So to simplify, this year we are making all our beds 30 inches wide and all our foot paths 12 inches.  Done.

If you want to learn more or how to plant different veggies in those sized beds, you’d better check the book out of the library or order it on amazon.  It’s a good one.  I have consulted it at least a few hundred times in the last week alone.

Thanks,  Courtney

Wish me luck on my upcoming battles with self proclaimed master gardener, Robert.  🙂

2 responses to “Gardening tip: Make all beds the same size

  1. Have you actually *walked* a 12″ pathway between raised beds?
    I’d like to gently suggest you get two long boards, place them 12″ apart and walk between them, then kneel as if you’re planting starts. You might like 18 inches better.

    Ah, and check out Gardinate.com. (or is it .org?) They send an email planting calendar that’s priceless for home-gardeners. and it’s free! I discovered it a few months ago and love it already. (no connection with them, otherwise.)
    Enjoy, and good luck with your garden!

    • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

      H.W.

      Hmmm. Interesting. I’m going to try that out, thanks for the suggestion.

      -Robert

Leave a Reply

