The Deliberate Agrarian

Many of you already know that I’m a huge fan of Herrick Kimball, author of the Deliberate Agrarian blog and also many books including Anyone Can Build a Whizbang Chicken Plucker and Anyone Can Build a Whizbang Apple Grinder and Cider Press.  He also has a monthly blogazine called The Deliberate Agrarian. 

This month’s article was about a very inspiring answer to prayer.  He has finally landed the deal of his dreams and will soon close on sixteen acres of farmland.  Oh how Courtney and I would love to do that too.  I congratulate Mr. Kimball.

Later in his post, Mr. Kimball made a reference to an article he wrote in January 2008 titled An Agrarian Style Economic Self Defense Plan.  I really liked that article and it helped me better define the way I felt and set a plan about what to do.  At the time I was concerned (and I still am) about the direction of our country’s economy and wanted know how to better prepare.  This is why we spend our spare time reading and applying what we learn about gardening, animal husbandry, food preservation, etc.

At the bottom of that article, please also read the comments section.  I always read the comments at the Deliberate Agrarian because they are also usually chock full of useful information or advice.  One person linked to an article by Mark Cuban titled, The Stock Market Is for Suckers.  I couldn’t agree more.  Another commenter recommended Survivalblog for more information.  I did get stuck there for more than four hours as warned in the comment and became a daily reader.   Find your way to the precepts page on that blog to find out what it is all about.  There is always practical, useful information posted about self sufficiency.

Thanks, Robert.

Leave a Reply

