Blossom End Rot in Tomatoes

It’s official our tomatoes have blossom end rot.  Our little babies are sick and we are trying to figure out a cure.  Our Rodale organic gardening book we have suggested kelp sprays because of a calcium and magnesium deficiency.  One online source said it’s a calcium deficiency and over watering problem.  And an yet another online source said it was due to erratic watering and adding lime will not correct the problem if watering is truly the cause.

So what’s a gardener to do?  We’ll ask our faithful readers of course.  Have you had problems with blossom end rot, if so how did you solve the problem?

Here’s our first step.  Since we are container gardening we think we could have the erratic watering problem.  We don’t know how well the water drains from our tubs so for a while we are going to reduce the amount of water we apply.  We won’t know right away if that solves the problem because we will need to wait until the current blossoms bear fruit.  I sure hope we are right.

Thanks, Courtney.

6 responses to “Blossom End Rot in Tomatoes

  1. I usually grow about 25 tomato plants a year and used to have blossom end rot. I use a folicular food (I use miracle grow tomato food) when I set out my plants and then again once they are flowering and setting fruit. I find that I don’t have a problem with it. Good luck.

    • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

      Donna,

      I’m currently reading Steve Solomon’s “Gardening Without Irrigation” and he’s a huge proponent of foliar feeding. I’ll be sure to post a book review when I’m done. This is something I’ve never done but I’m becoming much more interested now.

      Thank you,
      Robert

  2. I save my egg shell all year and crush them and put a hand full under each tomato plant when planting. So far it’s working!

    • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

      Deb,

      That sounds very interesting. That’ll supply the calcium need for sure! How do you store the egg shells? I assume you rinse them first?

      Thanks, Robert

  3. Walt of Mount Vernon

    I have done container gardening the last couple of years both topsy turvy type and larger containers. I have blossom end rot showing as well. I’ve been very consistent with watering and have fertilized with an organic fertilizer. But I still have the rot. The only good news is that it only seems to hit the early tomatoes. I just pull them off. The overall harvest isn’t effected that much by the problem which makes me happy. Like you, the information I’ve read is inconsistent.

    • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

      Thanks Walt. I’m hoping you’ll weigh in tomorrow too, when I post about our cucumber troubles. Robert

Leave a Reply

