Next project: Apple Grinder and Cider Press

I recently posted about my hugely successful apple cider experiment last fall.  I loved it so much that I’ve decided to start working on a plan to produce larger quantities.

Herrick Kimball wrote a book called Anyone Can Build A Whizbang Apple Grinder & Cider Press.  He’s the same guy I’ve written about before who has written a number of how to books, namely the book on how to build your own chicken plucker.

Mr. Kimball continually challenges his readers to “be a scrounger” and find parts as cheaply as you can.  This past week or so I’ve started collecting parts.  I found a craigslist ad for free lumber scrapped from a home remodel and all I had to do was pull out a few nails here and there.  I also visited a “ReStore” nearby that sells construction supplies that were taken from homes being torn down, remodeled, etc.

It was at that store that I found the prize: the Insinkerator 333-SS!  It is a garbage disposal that is all stainless steel on the inside.  To buy new it would be over $200 but I only paid $5 for it (the store owner made me a special deal with the stipulation that I take him some cider).  I tore into it and found it all to be in good condition.  I just have to clean it up a little.  You must have stainless steel parts rather than galvanized internal parts because the acidity of the apples will rust that steel in a hurry.

We plan on making sweet cider, hard cider and perhaps even applesauce with my new toys once complete.  I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

Thanks, Robert.

Other Apple Grinder/Cider Press Posts:

Status Report

Cutting a Keyway

Completion

Being Bold: Apple Collecting

Inaugural Cider Batch

Apple Cider Vinegar (future post)

Hard Cider (future post)

 

Leave a Reply

