Nancy’s Blueberry Pie Recipe

Who’s Nancy?  She is my aunt’s mother and she lives in Michigan which makes her an expert in all things blueberry.  I don’t know if she really is an expert in all things blueberry but this pie is pretty amazing.  Truth be told I have never actually had a pie made by Nancy but my aunt made this pie and it was delicious.  I have had the recipe for several years but I never felt my pie making skills were up to par.  Since attending a free King Arthur Flour pie making class, which came to my town a couple years ago, I have become much more well versed in pie.

Now I can proudly say that I have a favorite pie crust recipe (this isn’t the exact one they provided at the class but it’s close, add 1 teaspoon salt, heaping if kosher, and 1 cup of butter).  It’s the recipe I learned at the King Arthur Class.  It’s an all butter crust and I make it frequently.  You can usually count on the fact that I have one or two frozen in my freezer – for emergencies.  It’s such a flaky crust.

My rolling method is from Christopher Kimball of Cook’s Illustrated.  I saw him demonstrate one time how he always rolls in one direction.  After each pass he moves the dough a quarter of a turn.  (Make a pass from the center of the ball of dough to the upper right corner, then turn dough and repeat)  It’s so much easier to get a round circle this way, the dough doesn’t stick because you are constantly moving it, and it’s less cumbersome then manipulating your rolling pin to turn every which way.

This recipe is really easy to throw together, no cooking, no unusual ingredients just the good stuff.

Nancy’s Blueberry Pie (Double pie crust needed)

2 pints blueberries (I used 4 heaping cups)

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 Tbl lemon juice

Mix all together in a bowl.

Pour into unbaked pie crust.  Dot top of pie filling with 1 1/2 Tbl butter.

Brush edge of crust with milk and place the second pie crust on top of the pie.  Press the two together to seal closed, then tuck it under.  It should be tucked and resting on the lip of the pie shell.  I like to think of this as a double seal so they juices don’t seep out into the bottom of the pan or the bottom of the oven.  Sometimes I have to cut off sections that are too long and won’t fold under nicely.

Cut some slits in the top of the pie, brush with milk or cream and sprinkle with sugar.  Place on a rimmed cookie sheet and bake at 450°F for 15 minutes then turn down oven to 350°F nd continue baking for 45 – 50 minutes, or until bubbly and golden brown.  I always peak at the bottom of the pyrex dish to make sure I have good browning.   You do not want a soggy bottom crust.  Put foil around the edges of crust when they start to brown, I put mine on after the first 15 minutes.  Bake the pie scraps too.  Just sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar and bake for 15 minutes.  These might just be my favorite part.

Nancy also says that frozen blueberries work well too, just defrost and drain some of the liquid that accumulates.

Thanks, Courtney

2 responses to “Nancy’s Blueberry Pie Recipe

  1. Looks yummy & pretty too…. I have been putting blueberries in my steel cut oats.

  2. Man….that’s got my tummy grumbling just looking at the pictures.

Leave a Reply

