Homemade Soap Disaster #2

Hey it’s me again, the crazy lady who keeps messin’ things up.  This time it was my fault, not the recipes fault.  Today I set out to make my face wash.  It is a recipe from the book I mentioned in an earlier post, called Green Beauty Recipes.  I set out to make her Basic Cream #1 recipe.  The recipe can be used as a moisturizer on it’s own or you can add Castile soap to make a nice soft face wash.

So here I am getting started, all is well.

After measuring out the minuscule amounts.  I really wanted to double or triple the recipe but I didn’t want to waste the ingredients if it didn’t turn out.  Good thing, I did.

Here is the coconut oil and my emulsifier cetyl stearyl alcohol (sounds scary but is actually safe) melting away on my makeshift double boiler.  Who really has two double boilers laying around anyways?

Okay here is the finished product.  After stirring and cooling.  Looks similar to the starting product just with smaller sized beads.  Not a cream if you ask me.

See the lovely separation.  I essentially made oil and water.

After rereading the directions I discovered a few things:

Let it heat up longer after melting

Stir longer

Use an immersion blender to fully incorporate the oil into the water phase

After trying these tricks I redid the recipe and voila it worked.  I still got a little separation but a quick swirl before using it solved the problem.  Next time I will use more emulsifier.  But it’s a natural product so I am fine with a little separation.

White and creamy.  Not very thick though, the book says to add more emulsifier to make it thicker.  I put the soap into a plastic squeezy bottle and used it in the shower.  It works great, not drying at all.  I think this will be my face wash and body soap from now on.  Now I can quadruple the recipe.

Thanks, Courtney

Leave a Reply

