My Family’s Potato Salad with Leeks

What a perfect way to kick off the summer grillin’ season than with a potato salad recipe.  I know potato salad are not trending right now on the culinary scene, nor are they a fancy shmancy dish.  But you know what, everyone seems to love them, so I plan on keeping this 1970’s pot-luck recipe in heavy rotation this summer.  Here is my families recipe.  I have made a few changes and added a few favorite ingredients of my own – leeks and whole grain mustard.  This serving size is perfect to take to a pot-luck or for a family you’ll just have yummy leftovers.

Potato Salad (with leeks or onions)

4 pounds potatoes

2 tsp kosher salt, plus more for salting the water

1/4 tsp pepper

1 cup mayo

2 1/2 tsp whole grain mustard (Maille brand is my fav)

2 small onions, about 1/2 cup OR 2 medium leeks white parts only, finely diced and well washed

1 cup finely diced celery

1 Tablespoon olive oil

red wine vinegar

2 hard cooked eggs, cut up

Celery seeds

Scrub potatoes and place in large Dutch oven with 2 inches of salted water.  The top layer of potatoes will not be submerged, that’s okay they will steam cook.

Bring to boil, then cover tightly and cook for 30 -40 minutes or until tender.  Drain, cool and cut into cubes and place in large bowl.  You can peel if you like but I leave the skin on because it’s full of fiber.  Toss the little pieces of skin that shred off as you cut though.

After potatoes are cooked and busy cooling use the same pan to saute onions (or leeks) and celery in oil until translucent, just before they start to brown.  (I hate washing dishes so I try to use as few pans as possible.)

Sprinkle potatoes with  salt and pepper.  Shake red wine vinegar over the potatoes, give it a stir and shake on some more red wine vinegar.  The amount of red wine vinegar is up to you.  Go easy now and add more to taste when you are finished.  Add celery, onions (or leeks),hard boiled eggs, mayo and mustard to potatoes.  I find the mustard incorporates better if I swirl the mustard around in the mayo before folding it into the potatoes.

Toss until potatoes are well coated.  Remember though the more you stir the more the potatoes will break down.  If you like potato salad creamy, keep stirring it up.  Last but not least sprinkle with a few pinches of celery seeds.  This is my favorite part, has been since I was a kid, it’s just not potato salad without them.  Now taste a piece of potato and add more of whatever ingredient you think is missing.  I always think it needs more salt and vinegar because I happen to love salt (not ashamed to say).

In the recipe I made today I did not add eggs and replaced leeks with onions because I was out of both.  I also gave it a final stir after the celery seeds were added so you might not be able to see them.

Enjoy, Courtney

8 responses to “My Family’s Potato Salad with Leeks

  1. What a great recipe. I love leeks, but have never thought to add them to a potato salad.

  2. Is this the salad you made when we came over? If so, i’m very glad to have the recipe! 🙂
    meagan

  3. Samantha Erickson

    I love making potato salad! Ive never had leeks before, my husband recently brought some home and am so glad I found your recipe. Im going to make my usual potato salad but add leeks this time! Ill let you know how it turns out!

  4. I came across this recipe yesterday as I was looking for something to do with some extra leeks I had. We had it with dinner last night and it was great. I only wished that I had made more, there wasn’t any leftovers for today! Thank you for sharing.

  5. Okay, just wanted to let everyone know that I am making this again today,so good…can’t wait!

  6. So glad you’re enjoying it Sandra. I am making for a party tomorrow too!

  7. Trying with scallions today. Great recipe, thanks again.

Leave a Reply

