How to make Playdough

I probably should have posted this earlier in the winter because this is a great indoor activity.  I guess it will have to work for a rainy spring day instead.  My mom and grandma used to make this playdough for me as a kid.  I remember waking my grandmother up and asking her to make me some.  It’s very similar to the original.  But what’s great is that it is super cheap and super fast to make.  I don’t think you could drive to the store and buy some in the time it took me to make it and cool it.  I made mine with some bread flour that I thought was on the borderline of being rancid, worked perfect.  Try not to get too much food coloring because I cannot guarantee that this will not bleed onto you white sofa.

Playdough

Makes enough to fill 3 regular sized Play Doh containers (even though the picture only shows 2), so be sure to save them up.

1 cup flour

1 cup water

1/2 cup salt

2 Tablespoons Cream of Tartar

2 teaspoons food coloring or a teeny bit of Wilton cake decorating food coloring (the kind that is like a gel and comes in the little tubs)

Stir together in saucepan over medium low heat.

Before the food coloring

Here’s the Wilton brand – Royal Blue

After the food coloring

It will quickly start to get thick and seize up into a ball.  Keep stirring until you think it looks like playdough consistency.

Take off the heat, let cool briefly and then cover with saran wrap until it is cool enough to play with.

Leave a Reply

