Hamburger Soup

Here’s a great winter soup that will remind you of the summer goodness yet to come.  This is my grandmother’s recipe and we cherish it often.

Serves a crowd

1/2 lb ground beef

1 med onion

3 – 4 cloves garlic

1 can Rotel tomatoes

1 can tomato sauce

1 can stewed tomatoes, Muir Glen fire roasted tomatoes are extra delicious

5 potatoes, cut into bite sized pieces (can be peeled or left unpeeled)

2 carrots, peeled and cut into bite sized pieces

1 stalk celery, cut into bite sized pieces

1 can kidney beans, drained

1 small can corn or frozen corn

3/4 cups okra

Brown meat with medium onion.  Season with salt and pepper.

I like to get a nice fond on the bottom of my pan, this adds lots of flavor.  Add garlic, stir for 30 seconds or until fragrant then immediately add all the canned tomatoes.  You don’t want your garlic to burn, there’s nothing I hate more than burnt garlic.  Add as much water as desired, I usually add a pretty large amount, almost filling up my Le Creuset pan.  Some will evaporate as you cook.  Add potatoes, carrots, celery, kidney beans and corn.

Cook until potatoes are done, about 35 minutes.  Add okra and cook an additional five minutes.  Adjust seasonings before serving

This recipe is flexible so add any veggies that you have on hand.  In this recipe I substituted the cans of tomato and the garlic for 2 pint sized jars of our homemade salsa.  Our salsa was a little too runny this year to use as salsa so I use it is soups and it seasons everything perfectly.  I also added peas, and some miscellaneous frozen vegetables that my son decided he wouldn’t eat.  So it always turns out a little different.  Just make sure you use Rotel tomatoes or a spicy salsa.  This gives the soup a tiny bit of heat and keeps it from tasting like tomato soup with veggies.  I always serve with hot sauce, preferable Tobasco or Frank’s Red Hot.  A little vinegary, hot splash is just what it needs.

4 responses to “Hamburger Soup

  1. May I ask what size cans you use when you say “cans” ?
    Thanks

    • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

      The sauce and the Rotel are 14 oz cans and the Stewed tomatoes are 28 oz cans. Its not a perfect science, though. We just use whatever we have and its a little different every time. Variety is the spice of life!

  2. Courtney, just found your blog!!! Love it!! My Hubby and I are getting into gardening this year and I love to cook 🙂 So glad to see you!

  3. Courtney, I love your blog because it gives me great ideas. Plus, I think that our relatives must have been from the same areas as there is so much familiarity in what you post. My grandmother, Winnie, used to make Hamburger Soup for us when we were kids. She did not use spicy tomatoes, so it will be nice to try that variation. Other than that, the recipe is very similar. We always put whatever we had in the fridge or on the countertop and it was delicious every time. Thanks for sharing, I think I will make some this week. 🙂 Yum!

Leave a Reply

