What Courtney is looking for in a Homestead

Before I get started on this list, I have to add that Robert and I are a team.  But there are some things that are just more important to me than they are to him.  They might seem silly or trivial to him but being the man that he is, he always listens, and always tries to make me happy.  We have discussed all the major things that we want in a homestead but here are some of the minor things I am looking for.

Home

1. I would like a house with a kitchen that looks out on the dining room and living room.  I want to be able to watch children and prepare dinner at the same time.  I just can’t let my son play in the living room and not have my eye on him at all times (at least at this age I can’t)

2.  No carpet in the living areas.  I have come to adore my wide push mop and can’t see cleaning any other way.  Plus I don’t want my house to smell like dog and I think carpet traps those smells.  I will get a rug and replace it as needed.

3.  No stairs please.  It seems as if the most amusing toy in the house has nothing on those blasted stairs.  I can’t keep him off them.  I know what you’re thinking, a gate is the answer, but in old houses  we’d need a custom, aka expensive, gate system to close off the area.  After moving to a house with no stairs my stress level has dropped immensely, it’s better than yoga.

Location

1.  This is another biggie for me.  I want to be within 15 minutes of a town.  I don’t want to spend hours of my day getting to the grocery store and back.

2.  I would be nice to be within an hour of an airport and major city.  So we can travel easily and get some culture once in a while.

3.  I would like to be within 30 minutes of a hospital and doctor.  Not only am I in the baby stage of my life but I’d like to be near for other unexpected emergencies.  Home birth is just not this girl’s cup of tea.

4.  I’d love to be near a library.  Any ol’ library will do cause most of my books are inter library loans anyways.

5.  I’d love to be in a state that is homeschooling friendly.  That would make my life so much easier.

6.  A church that we love.  This time I can’t say just any ol’ church will do.  I’d actually like to believe in most of the same things they do.  And infant baptism would be nice.

That’s all I can think of for now.  I am sure there are more but those will be for another day.

3 responses to “What Courtney is looking for in a Homestead

  1. I definitely know what you’re experiencing — while Joseph and I are a team, there are things that are more important to me than it is to him. My list echos a lot of yours. Since we’re looking to buy something existing before we build on Wildwood, I have my little list of “wants” stashed away. In fact, we’re going to look at houses this weekend … I’m excited!

    Here’s my wish-list:
    * In town. I’m not sure how much I’ll like rural living, so I’m not ready to head for the hills and live at Wildwood quite yet. I want to be relatively close to other people, the grocery store, and a library. Decent medical facilities are also important to me.
    * We’re fortunate to have a couple of church homes that are good options for our family near where we’re looking.
    * We’re also fortunate to be in a homeschooling friendly state.
    * One story house preferably. Of course, the house we’re most excited to see this weekend is a 2 story, but I just may get over it for a 1930s Victorian. =P I’m a sucker for Victorian houses!
    * Open floor plan so I can keep an eye on Katherine and any other little ones that may come.
    * 2nd living or dining room that we can use for homeschooling. I’d love to be able to have a dedicated space for learning.
    * 4 bedrooms – 5 would be awesome but unlikely. Since Joseph intends to work from home, having a closed off office space would be ideal. We also need a guest room for our family to stay in while visiting (since we’re moving away from family now) and an extra bedroom for Baby #2 when he or she arrives.
    *At least 1/2 acre so we can have a garden.
    * Within a 30 minute drive of Wildwood so we can easily work on projects out there.

    I also have a wish list going for the house we’ll ultimately build. This includes being a 1 story, gas range, large open kitchen with plenty of counter and cabinet space, tons of windows, and storage galore.

    Good luck!

  2. Yep, that sounds like mine. That is a really good idea to move near Wildwood for awhile. That will be a good transition to living remotely. I hope your house hunting goes well this weekend. It sounds like fun. We will probably send Robert up to find a place for us to rent and then continue on the homestead hunt once we are settled in the area and know the lay of the land.

  3. Harold Dean

    I do hope both of you realize your dream and relish it when you do. I have seen so many young couples go all out in pursuit of their dreams and then the cost of realizing it drives a wedge between them often leading to divorce and parting ways with the dream hanging over them like a millstone. Having been born and raised in a rural atmosphere and coming from abject poverty, my wife from similar circumstances, where we happened to be at the moment with our five children was our warm, loving comfortable home for we made it that way. As far as home schooling goes, it is a wonderful concept and most school districts frown on it simply because it reduces the amount of federal and state funds paid for each child. My children were all predominately schooled in the LA county area with the final years in northern LA county in the high desert. All but one dropped out because of relentless peer pressure to do drugs etc which was vigorously taught against at home. Their final years before leaving home was to unteach a lot of the crap they learned in school and learn something useful they could utilize to earn a living. Cultural differences, etc, does not earn a living. The last daughter left home to get married at twenty eight. They are all long gone now making their own lives and all except the last one has adult children to contend with and hers is sixteen. None of mine were ever in jail, arrested, done drugs while teenagers under my roof, etc, so I guess it was a successful way of child rearing. We own our home and it suits us now and gives us a place to relax and enjoy our post golden years. Harold Dean

Leave a Reply

