Roasted Prosciutto Chicken and Unusual Root Veggies

This recipe was prepared for me by an excellent Italian cook and friend, after I had my baby.  I never got the recipe I just recreated it and made some changes of my own.  It’s a great way to get everyone to eat root veggies because they taste amazing.  Plus how cool is it to say you prepared rutabaga for dinner and they ate every bite.  It’s easy to swap out veggies depending on what you have on hand.  Mine is always different depending on what’s in the fridge.  You could easily use celery root, turnips, butternut squash, etc.  Serve this with a lemon dressed salad.  Delicious.

Serves 6 -8.  Preheat oven to 350°F.

For the veggies:

  • 1 small rutabaga
  • 2 parsnips
  • 1 parsley root (tastes like a carrot with parsley on it- makes it interesting and unusual)
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 potato
  • 1 celery stalk
  • frozen pearl onions (optional)

Peel all veggies, except potato.  Dice all veggies into very small pieces.  They should be really small so they cook in the same amount of time as the chicken.  Add veggies to roasting pan.  If you don’t have a roasting pan use a 9 x 13 pan.  Chicken will be placed on top of diced veggies.

For the chicken

  • 6-8 boneless skinless chicken breast (fit as many in your roaster as you can)
  • 1 package of prosciutto (I think they are like 4 oz)
  • 1 cube mozzarella or fontina cheese, slice into thin pieces to completely cover the chicken pieces
  • 1/2 – 1 cup vermouth
  • Thyme or other herbs you have on hand (I like Parisien Herbs from Penzey’s)
  • Parmesan cheese (the real stuff, NOT the kind in the green can)

Place chicken breast on top of prepared veggies sprinkle everything with salt and pepper.  Not too much salt though because the cheese and prosciutto is salty.  Lay slices of cheese on top of the chicken, be generous.  Sprinkle everything with herbs.    Pour vermouth into roaster, you may need more depending on the size of the pan you use.  You want it to be moist so that the chicken doesn’t dry out.  Your goal is to get the vermouth to cook almost all the way off by the end of roasting and make yummy brown bits on the bottom.  Bake for 25 -30 minutes and remove from oven.  Layer prosciutto on top of cheese, again be generous, use the whole package.  Grate some Parmesan cheese over the top of everything.  Put back in oven until chicken is cooked through. Maybe another 10 minutes or so.  Veggies will be cooked but will have a little crunch to them, they won’t be mushy.

Enjoy.

3 responses to “Roasted Prosciutto Chicken and Unusual Root Veggies

  1. Mary Edith

    Ok, Courtney. I’m just back from the grocery store and I got the fixin’s for this. We’ll be trying parsnips, turnips, butternut squash, and celery root with our chicken. I’m hoping there’s vermouth somewhere in the back of our cupboard . . .

  2. I hope you like it. It’s one of our favorites. I’ve never tried celery root either but hear it’s really yummy. Let me know.

    • Mary Edith

      Yum. Had it the other night. Loved the celery root in it. Hard to peel but delicious to eat. I had to pull the chicken off to let my vegetables roast a little longer. I think I diced them bigger than you did. Next time, I’ll probably start the veggies first then lay the chicken on top after 15 minutes or so.

      The kids even liked it . . . and that’s saying something, because when I told them we were having rutabaga, parsnips, and turnips they were less than enthused 🙂

Leave a Reply

