Book Review: Williams-Sonoma The Art of Preserving

I just got a new book,  Wiliams-Sonoma The Art of Preserving by Rick Field, Rebecca Courchesne and Lisa Atwood.  And I absolutely love it.  Now I have to admit that we know one of the authors but that’s not going to influence this review.  Besides if I didn’t like the book I would have subscribed to the philosophy: If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”  But that doesn’t apply here because I really liked this book.

To give you a quick background I think I have checked out every book on preserving from libraries across this country.  Some of my favorites include Oded Schwartz’ Preserving, Homemade Living: Canning & Preserving by Ashley English and of course Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving.  I have to admit that I like books with pictures, lots of them.  I also like unusual recipes (not that I make these but I like knowing they are there if I run out of the old standbys) and scientific explanations (cause let’s be real I don’t want to make anyone sick).  Another gauge I use to determine a good canning book is if they put a recipe for homemade pectin.  These are the true canners because they don’t just pour in Sure-Jell, like I do.

This new book just seems to have it all.  It has pictures, good explanations, unusual flavor combinations and as an added bonus it has recipes for using the preserves and pickles.  I really liked these additional recipes because sometimes you make 30 jars of tomato sauce and you just can’t figure out how to use them all without making the fam sick of spaghetti.  For instance there is a recipe for Peach Jam and then immediately following are two recipes for Ham and Pulled Pork that use the jam.  Not that my family has any problem polishing off peach jam, but you know how it is.

The first recipe I tried was Preserved Lemons.  We haven’t tasted them yet but I wanted to share some pictures because they are so beautiful.  I can’t put the recipe up because of that silly copyright law but that’s okay cause you will want to buy this book.  The recipe was simple and fast.  I made it in only one naptime.  Can’t wait to try another recipe.

I turned this

Into this

 

 

Leave a Reply

