How I Cook Bacon

I learned how to make bacon only a few years ago.  I had been cooking bacon for a long time, but never doing it well until I learned how to do it in the oven.

Get out a rimmed baking sheet and line with foil.  Then place a rack on the foil.  Lay out the bacon flat and don’t let them overlap.  I even try to keep each piece from touching, but sometimes I just run out of space so that rule is the first to go.

Then the tray goes into a 300* oven.  Depending on the amount of bacon you are cooking this could take up to an hour and a half, so plan accordingly.  I usually start this at 6:00am while the rest of the house is still sleeping.

To me, the temperature is important.  I like cooking things low and slow.  I feel the end product is better.  It also affords you some flexibility.  An extra five minutes won’t kill you using this method and will allow you more time to read another blog post at His and Hers Homesteading, for example.

Courtney disagrees with all this.  She would rather turn the temperature up and have her bacon sooner.  My warnings of becoming part of our instant gratification society fall on deaf ears when the smell of bacon is in the air.  I admit that there is not much difference in the final product at 350*.  You’ll have to watch things much more closely, however.  That bacon will sizzle and crisp up very quickly at the higher temperature.  This is about the only thing that we can never seem to agree on, and we’re both dug in and holding the line.

I read recently about saving bacon grease and I’ve started my own collection.  It is great for cooking and for seasoning your cast iron cookware.  I collect the grease while it is still hot and runny in a glass bowl and put into the fridge once it cools a little.

What bacon is the best?  Our all time favorite is Trader Joes Applewood Smoked bacon.  A close second is the Niman Ranch bacon.  Both taste great.  Since relocating we are having to try new bacon brands and have yet to find one we love.  Most of them are OK, but none compare to our favorites.

Thanks,  Robert.

7 responses to “How I Cook Bacon

  1. Instant gratification, oh please, try pregnant and hungry!!!

  2. This is a great post. Does the bacon curl up at all? Love this for my family of bacon eaters. Hugs, Bobbi Jo

  3. Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

    Bobbi Jo,

    The bacon does not seem to curl up when cooked low and slow.

    Thanks, Robert

  4. Troy Lock

    Try the farmers apple wood smoked bacon from Costco. It gets 4 thumbs up in our house

  5. Robert, I know you and your lovely wife cooked bacon along with many other wonderful treats quite often while living in both CO and CA. I’m curious, does the elevation difference cause any noticeable changes? If so, what changes, with what foods, and why?
    Also, in regards to your preferred method of cooking and baking… that’s what she said.
    Finally, I want to tell the both of you how. Impressed I am with how your blog has progressed. I’m sure your slightly anal… I mean meticulous tendencies help you come up with informative and detailes blog posts.
    PS. How long will bacon grease keep?

    • Robert @ hisandhershomesteading

      Drew,

      The elevation forces you to recalculate lots of things. Bread recipes must be altered. Our rice cooker needs some sort of adjustment, and we haven’t figured it out yet. We need to add an incrementally larger amount of water. We will post when we figure it out. As to why this is necessary: its because of the change in elevation.

      I’m going to do a shelf life study on bacon grease. I’ll eat it every day until I get sick and then I’ll let you know how long it takes.

      For everyone else reading this, you should know that Drew is my brother, which is why he deserves a wise-cracker response.

      Thanks,
      Robert

Leave a Reply

